top of page

Who, what, when, where, why?


My name is Janice Gill, I am an artist and photographer and I love to make things. There is no greater feeling to me than finishing a project and being happy to say "I made that!"

Arctic Tern - Fly High

As a young child I was introduced to cross stitch at school and I never looked back, soon learning to knit and sew, making clothes for my toys and simple home projects. By the time I went to University I was happily making my own big sweaters. Starting a family meant there was more cute stuff to make.

Once the family flew the nest, I needed an outlet for my projects before I ran out of room at home! I started to sell on craft stalls around England and Wales and became a Designer for a paper crafting company. Life happens though and I needed a steady income so I got a job as a Child Support worker for troubled children at a residential home, later moving to work with Adults who have Autism and severe developmental problems. It is a job that gives great satisfaction but is ultimately quite draining physically and mentally. As my health started to suffer and I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes, I knew it was time for a change. I have moved to a zero hours contract so I will only be working when the company is short staffed and am now concentrating on doing what I love - designing and creating.


I love to do a whole range of crafts, art and photography. I have had to think carefully about the products I want to sell. Many crafts take a long time to complete and to make a reasonable income is very difficult. Products become too expensive for potential customers when you factor in your time.

I have chosen to concentrate on Art and Photography as there are secondary income streams possible such as prints and cards.

While raising my family, I lived many years in Wales. Being drawn to the sea, much of my work features the Welsh Coast, sunsets and places of interest.


I aim to sell my work on the internet, at exhibitions and an stalls at various events. You can see see on my website the events that I will be attending in the next couple of months, and of course, the website will be available all the time. It is still a work in progress, but I aim to have a good selection of work available by the end of the year.

I am based in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK, right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District.


There is more to this question than first meets the eye. We all need to earn money in some way, shape or form. I could have decided to get another job and have the security of a regular pay packet. There would always have been that nagging doubt though, that little "what if". So I am giving myself some time to try making a living in a way that brings me great happiness. I'm hoping that taking part in this challenge will give my traffic a boost and bring visitors to my website.

Why not pop along and have a peak, maybe let me know your favourite picture in the comments below.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page